Statues as light as sails

THE PERFECT MOMENT
  • 7 May - 10.45
  • 24°
  • 361 m
  • Inspired

In Ligornetto, just a short distance from the town square, is a villa set in beautiful grounds full of flowers, lemons, fountains and trees of every kind. Vincenzo Vela, an artist who travelled from the Mendrisiotto area to Rome, was born in this small village in 1820. Strolling through his statues today takes you back to the height of the Italian Risorgimento.

He watches you and you feel really small. His gaze is almost threatening, but you focus on the lightness of those enormous drapes that appear to be made of wispy fabric rather than plaster. You seem to feel the wind caressing your skin as it moves towards the giant and causes his clothing to billow out. Then you see the expression on his face, the details of his hands and the majesty that seems to radiate out of the eyes of those men who made Italy and beyond.
Vincenzo Vela. That name isn’t new to you and now you remember: you’d seen one of his sculptures in a museum in Rome and were surprised to discover that they devoted so much space to an artist from Ticino. It’s not easy to emerge in a country so rich in culture. But he managed it. After leaving Ligornetto, the Swiss sculptor studied in Milan and Venice, signed up as a volunteer in the Swiss civil war of Sonderbund and then went on to find fame and fortune in Turin. In 1862 he commissioned the construction of the villa in Ligornetto, designed to house his most important pieces.

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

This architectural and artistic gem is enhanced by fountains, an Italian and English garden, a lake, corners for reading and reflecting, flowers and plants. It feels like you’re in heaven. You didn’t believe there was a museum here, amidst the vineyards, fields and lanes. Of course you’re impressed by Vincenzo’s statues, but also by the works by his brother Lorenzo and son Spartaco. And then you see the paintings and the temporary exhibition: the one you’re visiting is devoted entirely to flowers. It’s fascinating to see what nature can do and what we have before our eyes on a daily basis.

Children are also given a chance to learn about this at the Vincenzo Vela Museum. As you entered, you saw a schoolgirl about to begin a journey of discovery. They'll certainly remember this visit and the smiles on their faces, fascinated by the plaster giants, seem to confirm this impression. Let the love of art begin!

Martina Zanetta, - a student who looks into the distance
Martina Zanetta,a student who looks into the distance
You might be interested also in the following story
Panorama is great and it’s a sought-after spot: a photo will make her friends jealous.
Read the story

IN THE SURROUNDINGS

USEFUL INFO

In addition to the works of Vincenzo Vela, the museum hosts various temporary exhibitions.


CONTACTS

Museo Vincenzo Vela
Casella Postale 8
Largo Vela
6853 Ligornetto

T +41 58 481 30 44/40
museo.vela@bak.admin.ch
www.museo-vela.ch

 

WHAT TO LISTEN TO

OTHER EXPERIENCES

Skulpturen mit flatternden Gewändern

DER PERFEKTE MOMENT
  • 7. Mai - 10.45 Uhr
  • 24°
  • 361 m
  • Inspiriert

In Ligornetto, wenige Schritte vom Dorfplatz entfernt, befindet sich eine Villa, die von einem wunderschönen Park voller Blumen, Zitrusfrüchte, Springbrunnen und Bäumen umgeben ist. In diesem kleinen Ort kam 1820 Vincenzo Vela auf die Welt, ein Künstler, der es vom Mendrisiotto bis nach Rom geschafft hat. Seine Skulpturen versetzen Besucher in die Zeit des italienischen Risorgimento.

Vielleicht fühlen Sie sich beobachtet und ungewohnt klein. Fast einschüchternd wirkt der Blick der Statue. Aber Sie konzentrieren sich auf die Leichtigkeit der enormen Gewänder, die nicht aus Gips, sondern aus leichtem Stoff zu scheinen seien. Der Betrachter spürt quasi den Wind auf der Haut, der die Tücher dieses Riesen flattern lässt. Der Gesichtsausdruck beeindruckt Sie, ebenso wie die Details der Hände und die Erhabenheit in den Augen dieser Männer, die Italien prägten.
Vincenzo Vela: Der Name war Ihnen nicht neu und Sie erinnern sich: In einem römischen Museum haben sie einmal eine Skulptur von ihm gesehen und waren überrascht, wie viel Platz einem Tessiner Künstler dort eingeräumt wurde. Das ist in einer kulturell so reichen Nation nicht selbstverständlich. Doch Vincenzo Vela hat es geschafft. Von Ligornetto aus ging der Bildhauer für seine Ausbildung nach Mailand und Venedig, beteiligte sich als Freiweilliger am Sonderbundskrieg und fand schliesslich Reichtum und Ruhm in Turin. Ab 1862 liess er sich die Villa in Ligornetto errichten, die so konzipiert wurde, dass sie Platz für die wichtigsten Kunstwerke bot.

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Ein Garten im italienischen und englischen Stil, mehrere Springbrunnen, ein Teich, kleine Ecken zum Lesen und Nachdenken, Blumen und Pflanzen, die dieses architektonische und künstlerische Juwel noch verschönern: Der Besucher fühlt sich wie im Paradies. Kaum zu glauben, dass es an diesem Ort, zwischen Weinbergen, Feldern und Strassen, ein Museum gibt. Nicht nur Vincenzos Skulpturen lassen sich hier besichtigen, auch die Werke von Bruder Lorenzo und Sohn Spartaco sind ausgestellt. Und dann gibt es noch Gemälde und eine temporäre Ausstellung: Die Bilder, die Sie anschauen, sind alle dem Thema Blumen gewidmet. Die Natur erschafft wunderbare Dinge. Das wird den Menschen jeden Tag vor Augen geführt.

Auch die kleinen Besucher gehen im Museo Vincenzo Vela auf Entdeckungsreise: Als Sie kamen, sahen sie gerade eine Schulklasse beim Rundgang. Dieser Besuch wird den Kindern noch lange in Erinnerung bleiben. Das verraten schon die staunenden Gesichter beim Anblick der riesigen Gipsstatuen. Die Reise in die Welt der Kunst hat begonnen.

Martina Zanetta, - Studentin mit Aussicht
Martina Zanetta,Studentin mit Aussicht
Auch diese Geschichte könnte Sie interessieren
Die Aussicht ist wunderschön. Um dieses Foto werden mich meine Freunde beneiden.
Zur Geschichte

WAS IST IN DER NÄHE

NÜTZLICHE INFO

Neben den Werken von Vincenzo Vela beherbergt das Museum verschiedene Wechselausstellungen.


KONTAKT

Museo Vincenzo Vela
Casella Postale 8
Largo Vela
6853 Ligornetto

T +41 58 481 30 44/40
museo.vela@bak.admin.ch
www.museo-vela.ch

 

FÜR DEN KOPFHÖRER

WEITERE ERLEBNISSE