Statues as light as sails

THE PERFECT MOMENT
  • 7 May - 10.45
  • 24°
  • 361 m
  • Inspired

In Ligornetto, just a short distance from the town square, is a villa set in beautiful grounds full of flowers, lemons, fountains and trees of every kind. Vincenzo Vela, an artist who travelled from the Mendrisiotto area to Rome, was born in this small village in 1820. Strolling through his statues today takes you back to the height of the Italian Risorgimento.

He watches you and you feel really small. His gaze is almost threatening, but you focus on the lightness of those enormous drapes that appear to be made of wispy fabric rather than plaster. You seem to feel the wind caressing your skin as it moves towards the giant and causes his clothing to billow out. Then you see the expression on his face, the details of his hands and the majesty that seems to radiate out of the eyes of those men who made Italy and beyond.
Vincenzo Vela. That name isn’t new to you and now you remember: you’d seen one of his sculptures in a museum in Rome and were surprised to discover that they devoted so much space to an artist from Ticino. It’s not easy to emerge in a country so rich in culture. But he managed it. After leaving Ligornetto, the Swiss sculptor studied in Milan and Venice, signed up as a volunteer in the Swiss civil war of Sonderbund and then went on to find fame and fortune in Turin. In 1862 he commissioned the construction of the villa in Ligornetto, designed to house his most important pieces.

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

This architectural and artistic gem is enhanced by fountains, an Italian and English garden, a lake, corners for reading and reflecting, flowers and plants. It feels like you’re in heaven. You didn’t believe there was a museum here, amidst the vineyards, fields and lanes. Of course you’re impressed by Vincenzo’s statues, but also by the works by his brother Lorenzo and son Spartaco. And then you see the paintings and the temporary exhibition: the one you’re visiting is devoted entirely to flowers. It’s fascinating to see what nature can do and what we have before our eyes on a daily basis.

Children are also given a chance to learn about this at the Vincenzo Vela Museum. As you entered, you saw a schoolgirl about to begin a journey of discovery. They'll certainly remember this visit and the smiles on their faces, fascinated by the plaster giants, seem to confirm this impression. Let the love of art begin!

Martina Zanetta, - a student who looks into the distance
Martina Zanetta,a student who looks into the distance
You might be interested also in the following story
Panorama is great and it’s a sought-after spot: a photo will make her friends jealous.
Read the story

IN THE SURROUNDINGS

USEFUL INFO

In addition to the works of Vincenzo Vela, the museum hosts various temporary exhibitions.


CONTACTS

Museo Vincenzo Vela
Casella Postale 8
Largo Vela
6853 Ligornetto

T +41 58 481 30 44/40
museo.vela@bak.admin.ch
www.museo-vela.ch

 

WHAT TO LISTEN TO

OTHER EXPERIENCES

Des statues légères comme des voiles

LE MOMENT PARFAIT
  • 7 maggio - 10.45
  • 7 mai - 10.45°
  • 361 m
  • Inspiré

À Ligornetto, à quelques pas de la place du village, se trouve une villa entourée d'un splendide parc constellé de fleurs, de citronniers, de fontaines et d'arbres de toutes sortes. C'est dans ce petit village qu'est né en 1820 Vincenzo Vela, un artiste qui quitta le Mendrisiotto pour se rendre à Rome. Aujourd'hui, en se promenant parmi ses statues, on a l'impression d'être en plein Risorgimento italien.

Elle vous observe et vous vous sentez tout petit. Son regard est presque menaçant, mais vous êtes fasciné par la légèreté de ces énormes drapées qui ne semblent pas faites de plâtre, mais de tissu léger. Vous avez l'impression de sentir le vent caresser votre peau avant d'aller animer les habits de ce géant. Notez l'expression du visage, les détails des mains et la majesté qui semblent rayonner dans les yeux de ces hommes qui ont entre autres fait l'Italie.
Vincenzo Vela. Vous connaissiez ce nom et vous savez pourquoi : vous avez vu une de ses sculptures dans un musée de Rome. Quelle surprise de découvrir que tout cet espace est consacré à un artiste tessinois. Il est difficile de s'imposer dans une nation si riche en culture. Mais il l'a fait. Parti de Ligornetto, le sculpteur du Mendrisiotto a étudié à Milan et à Venise. Il participa comme volontaire à la guerre civile suisse du Sonderbund et devint ensuite riche et célèbre à Turin. À partir de 1862, il fit construire la villa de Ligornetto, conçue comme un espace destiné à ses principales œuvres d'art.

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Museo Vela

Des fontaines, un jardin à l'italienne et à l'anglaise, un petit lac, des coins pour lire et réfléchir, des fleurs et des plantes pour enrichir ce joyau architectural et artistique. On croirait être au paradis. Vous ne pensiez pas qu'il y avait un musée ici, parmi les vignes, les champs et les routes. Vous êtes bien sûr frappé par les statues de Vincenzo, mais aussi par celles de son frère Lorenzo et de son fils Spartaco. Et il y a les peintures et l'exposition temporaire : celle que vous observez est consacrée aux fleurs. C'est fascinant ce que la nature peut faire et que nous voyons tous les jours.

Ici, au Musée Vincenzo Vela, même les plus jeunes sont présents : en entrant, vous avez vu un écolier prêt à se lancer dans la découverte. Cette visite restera certainement gravée dans leur mémoire et les sourires sur leurs visages fascinés par les géants de plâtre semblent le confirmer. Le voyage dans l'art commence.

Martina Zanetta, - une étudiante qui voit loin
Martina Zanetta,une étudiante qui voit loin
Il pourrait vous intéresser aussi l'histoire suivante
Le panorama est magnifique et l'endroit est convoité pour prendre une photo qui fera l'envie de ses amis.
À l'histoire

QU'EST-CE QU'IL Y A DANS LES PARAGES

INFORMATIONS UTILES

À côté des œuvres de Vincenzo Vela, le musée accueille diverses expositions temporaires.


CONTACTS

Museo Vincenzo Vela
Casella Postale 8
Largo Vela
6853 Ligornetto

T +41 58 481 30 44/40
museo.vela@bak.admin.ch
www.museo-vela.ch

 

QUELLE MUSIQUE DANS LES ECOUTEURS

AUTRES EXPÉRIENCES