Wed 10°C

Endorsers

Here are some words of welcome from a number of figures who live in our region.
We invited them to send you a welcome message, publishing them in our guide year after year.
These “endorsers” are regional or international names who were born here
or chose to live in this region, a place they love and would like you to discover.

2018 – Gardi Hutter

I always find it a bit of a paradox when journalists sing the praises of some “untouched beach”. Don’t they realise that their words are going to make loads of people flock to that very beach? Everyone is looking for the ‘real deal’ – the untouched, the authentic. But because so many people are looking for the same thing, we end up destroying it. Hordes of tourists alter the landscape and local culture. As a result, also this article is a paradox. Here I am going on about how wonderful the Mendrisiotto is, but at the same time I also want to keep it just the way it is – free of tourism. This is the real Ticino in its purest form. You’ll hear Italian on the streets. The hills and side valleys of the region are calm, real, authentic and full of cultural and landscape gems. The latest gem in the collection is the old Arzo marble quarry: the Patriciate of Arzo brought it back to life in autumn 2017 and the CAVA VIVA Group will breathe new life into the old quarry as a place for art and culture with stories about people and the stones.
Psst! Keep it to yourself!

ARTISTA E COMICA
DOWNLOAD THE GUIDE 2017

2017 – Mario Botta

The inauguration of the new tourist facility on the summit of Monte Generoso represents an important moment for the region. The Monte Generoso railway will be reclaiming its rightful place as one of the main players on the regional tourism scene, transporting people up to the Belllavista and the "Fiore di Pietra" (Stone Flower), where they can admire the most stunning views our region has to offer.
Those who want to combine their trip on the rack railway with an unforgettable walk will be alble to explore the two paths that underwent improvement work in 2016 and lead form the "Fiore di Pietra" to the Vetta and the Bellavista.
Meanwhile, those wishing to stay in the region for a few days are advised to take the time to discover the mountain's various natural and cultural attractions, from Val Mara to Valle di Muggio.
This guide is packed full of ideas about what to see and how to spend your time in the Monte Generoso region and further afield.


Pleasant stay!
Nadia Fontana - Lupi

2016 – Cadel Evans

In English there is a saying...“in the perfect world, the Italians are the cooks, the Swiss are the organizers, and the French are the lovers”. In Mendrisiotto, where I came to live ten years ago, maybe we are close to the “perfect world”.
I was drawn from my native Australia in pursuit of my dream of being a professional cyclist in the biggest races in the world. The climate and the appeal of Lago Lugano surrounded by the beautiful mountains, and the varied roads this terrain offers.
Whether you are out for a leisurely bike ride, driving or hiking with the family, or training for the Tour de France, Mendrisiotto offers it all within close proximity to Lugano, Como and Milano.
Neighboring Italy is obviously reflected in the culture; the lan­guage, to the food they prepare, and lending especially well to the wine they make.
The structure of Switzerland is reflected in the business done here, manufacturing, transport and logistics, and public trans­port services.
The lovers? We love it here, so we will stay thank you...

1 ° PLACE World champion in ROAD RACING CYCLING WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS, MENDRISIO 2009
DOWNLOAD THE GUIDE 2016

2015 – Mirko Rainer

Welcome to the region of the great opportunities, where an ambitious idea can turn into a very valuable international aim, with the help of the people that live in the Mendrisiotto and Lower Ceresio.
It is thanks to them that on September 6th, 2014 I was able to successfully achieve a new Guinness World Records™ title for “ Most champagne bottles sabered in one minute”, having the honor of becoming part of the family of Guinness World Records™.
Known as a crossroads of cultural and economic exchange, where the richness of the variety of food and wine is tasted in landscapes of great importance, the region of the Mendrisiotto and Lower Ceresio now more than ever is stated as a gateway to access the countless opportunities that the EXPO2015 of Milan is able to generate.
Opportunities that the region welcomes and knows how to expand.
In this place “Officially Amazing” I hope that visitors can discover and embrace the excitement that lives here not only in the artistic, cultural and entertaining activities, but also in those strictly business and economic oriented.
Thank you for choosing us!

GUINNES WORLD RECORDS TITLE DETENTORY for "The Most Number of Bottled Champagne Bottles in One Minute"
DOWNLOAD THE GUIDE 2015

2014 – Rodolfo Bernasconi

La Palmira, a character created by Gianna Bernasconi over 30 years ago, has long been a popular figure in many stories and on the stage.
Now she is here to welcome you to her region! Rodolfo Bernasconi, who played the role of La Palmira, sought to faithfully represent her as a woman of strong character who loved her country and its traditions greatly, held the reins of her family tightly but lovingly, and was committed to staying true to her principles.
She is a character that represents the people of Mendrisiotto as well – cordial people with a friendly, open character, always ready to joke and laugh.
Bernasconi the actor knew how to make himself appreciated on the stage and make people laugh and applaud. Getting on in years, he has retired now from the theatre.
However, he nonetheless recently agreed to make a film entitled “La Palmira, ul film” to be shot in some of the most beautiful locations of the Mendrisio area.
Palmira can therefore say farewell to her public in this film, leaving behind a remembrance of her open, honest nature and her heartfelt representation of the Momò character.
We hope you will have an enjoyable and happy visit to Mendrisiotto and will appreciate the beauty of the surroundings as well as the character of its people... there’s good fun and entertainment available for all!

ACTOR "LA PALMIRA"
DOWNLOAD THE GUIDE 2014

2013 – Giuseppe Poma

Mendrisio is a town steeped in history and traditions, which owes much of its fame to the historic processions held during Holy Week.
They are the only processions of their kind in Switzerland and are held every year since the late 17th century. The first documented reports of the processions date back to 1798, and they were recently included in the list of Switzerland’s living traditions.
The Procession of Holy Thursday, known locally as the “Funziun di Giüdee”, has a certain affinity with the sacred medieval representations, which were first held
in churches and later on in streets and squares and attracted large crowds.
All the actors in these performances are ordinary men and women, and true to tradition, the identity of the person representing Christ is never revealed until the end of the Procession. The Good Friday Procession, also known as the Enterro, is even older than the first, is more religious and liturgical, and is led by the clergy. More than 500 participants, including a large number of children, parade through the streets carrying special lamps painted by local artists.
The “Transparente”, one of the peculiarities of this procession, are valuable pieces of art, and they are spanned like large gates above the streets of the historic centre.
Our Foundation works all year round to preserve and restore the materials and costumes used in both events, which we hope you will soon have a chance to see.
Enjoy your stay in our region.

PRESIDENT OF THE HISTORICAL PROCESSIONS FOUNDATION
DOWNLOAD THE GUIDE 2013

2012 – Angelo Frigerio

Be our guests, you friends who have come to visit us in this district of the Mendrisiotto and Lower Ceresio Region.
Enchanting panoramas await you, from the view of the part of the pearly lake, which lies between Monte Generoso and San Giorgio, to the wavy plain of Mendrisio, studded with delightful villages; from the attractive charm of the Muggio Valley to the fertile, sunny hills of the “mountain”, through vigorously growing vineyards and luxuriant cultivated lands; fantastic places like Obino, where you might say that nature has married the Brianza area in Italy with Tuscany.
And everywhere you go you will appreciate the typical, traditional cuisine linked to healthy and genuine products from the area, famous for its fine food specialities, enriched by the well-known Merlot wines, which are smooth and excellent.
You will find a visit to Mendrisio, the main town in the area, worthwhile; it is becoming a “city” and is the treasure house of historical, cultural and artistic wealth (which you will also find if you visit the churches and oratories in the whole area).
The “magnificent borough” is the cradle of centuries-old, fascinating traditions, like the “Holy Easter Processions” or in the rural sector the “Feast of Saint Martin’s”.
Come and see us, it will be a reason for celebration!

"AL SCIOR MAESTRU DA LA RADIO"
DOWNLOAD THE GUIDE 2012
Follow us
Main sponsor
In collaboration with

Nos témoins

Nous vous présentons les textes de bienvenue rédigés par des personnes qui vivent dans notre région.
Nous leur avons demandé de vous adresser un message de bienvenue que nous avons publié chaque année dans notre guide.
Ces « témoins » sont des personnes connues à l'échelle régionale ou internationale, nées dans cette région ou qui ont choisi d'y vivre,
qui l'apprécient et qui vous invitent à la découvrir.

2019 – Murat Pelit


Il suffit qu’un journaliste enthousiaste décrive dans un journal une plage encore vierge, pour qu’aussitôt une foule s’y masse- Quel paradoxe ! Nous sommes tous à la recherche de paysages vierges, purs et authentiques, mais en nous y rendant trop nombreux, nous les détruisons. Les vagues de touristes modifient paysages et cultures. Paradoxal, cet article l’est également. Je suis enthousiasmée par le Mendrisiotto et souhaite conjointement le préserver, pour qu’il reste ce qu’il est : sans trop de touristes. Ici, le Tessin est simplement le Tessin. La langue que l’on y entend est l’italien ou le dialecte. Les collines et les vallées latérales du Mendrisiotto sont préservées, pures, authentiques et pleines  de perles de paysages et de cultures. La nouvelle perle de la collection de bijoux est la carrière de marbre d’Arzo. Le Patriat de Arzo  l’a fait renaitre en automne 2017 et l’association CAVA  VIVA  souhaite lui faire revivre un second souffle,  artistique et culturel, avec des histoires d’hommes et de pierres…
Chuttt ! Ne le dites à personne !

2018 – Gardi Hutter


Il suffit qu’un journaliste enthousiaste décrive dans un journal une plage encore vierge, pour qu’aussitôt une foule s’y masse- Quel paradoxe ! Nous sommes tous à la recherche de paysages vierges, purs et authentiques, mais en nous y rendant trop nombreux, nous les détruisons. Les vagues de touristes modifient paysages et cultures. Paradoxal, cet article l’est également. Je suis enthousiasmée par le Mendrisiotto et souhaite conjointement le préserver, pour qu’il reste ce qu’il est : sans trop de touristes. Ici, le Tessin est simplement le Tessin. La langue que l’on y entend est l’italien ou le dialecte. Les collines et les vallées latérales du Mendrisiotto sont préservées, pures, authentiques et pleines  de perles de paysages et de cultures. La nouvelle perle de la collection de bijoux est la carrière de marbre d’Arzo. Le Patriat de Arzo  l’a fait renaitre en automne 2017 et l’association CAVA  VIVA  souhaite lui faire revivre un second souffle,  artistique et culturel, avec des histoires d’hommes et de pierres…
Chuttt ! Ne le dites à personne !

2017 – Mario Botta


L'inauguration du nouveau lieu d'hébergement au sommet de la montagne constitue un moment fort. Le Chemin de fer du Monte Generoso redevient ainsi l'un des principaux acteurs de l'offre régionale, et il pourra transporter jusqu'au Bellavista et jusqu'au "Fiore di Pietra" (Fleur de Pierre) tous ceux qui souhaitent admirer des panoramas parmi les plus fantastiques que peut offrir notre région.
Ceux qui voudront associer au parcours en train à crémaillère une belle excursion à pied pourront profiter de deux sentiers, restaurés au cours de l'année 2016, qui mènent du "Fiore di Pietra" au Vetta et au Bellavista.
Pour ceux qui souhaitent rester quelques jours dans la région, nous suggérons de prendre le temps de découvrir les différentes offres liées à la nature et à la culture que propose cette grande montagne, du Val Mara à la Vallé de Muggio.
Pour en savoir plus, nous vous conseillons de lire attentivement le pages de ce guide, ce qui vous permettra de choisir ce que vous voulez voir et de décider comment passer du temps à la découverte de la région sur le Monte Generoso, mais aussi ailleurs.

Bon séjour!
Nadia Fontana - Lupi

2016 – Cadel Evans


En Anglais, nous avons un dicton que l’on pourrait traduire de la manière suivante:
«Dans un monde parfait, les Italiens sont de bons cuisiniers, les Suisses sont de bons organisateurs et les Français sont de bons amants».
À Mendrisiotto, où je me suis établi il y a dix ans, nous ne sommes certainement pas loin de ce monde parfait. J’avais quitté mon Australie natale pour poursuivre mon rêve: devenir cycliste professionnel et participer aux plus grandes courses du monde.
Le climat et la beauté du Lac de Lugano dans son superbe écrin de montagnes ainsi que la variété de routes que ce terrain offre ne m’ont pas déçu.
Que vous y veniez pour une balade à vélo, un tour en voiture, pour faire de la randonnée en famille ou pour vous entraîner pour le Tour de France, Mendrisiotto a tout ce qu’il vous faut, à proximité de Lugano, de Côme et de Milan.
Le voisinage avec l’Italie se reflète évidemment dans la culture, la langue,
la cuisine et en particulier dans le vin.
La structure de la Suisse se reflète dans les affaires que l’on y fait, dans l’industrie, les transports et la logistique ainsi que dans les transports publics.
 

Les amants? Nous aimons cet endroit et nous comptons bien y rester...

2015 – Mirko Rainer


Bienvenue dans la région des grandes opportunités, où une idée ambitieuse peut se transformer en un objectif précieux de portée internationale, avec l’aide des habitants du Mendrisiotto et du Basso Ceresio.
C’est grâce à eux que le samedi 6 septembre 2014 je suis parvenu à réaliser une performance exceptionnelle: le plus grand nombre de bouteilles de champagne sabrées en une minute. J’ai ainsi établi le record mondial, ce qui m’a attribué l’honneur d’entrer dans la famille du Guinness World Records™.
Connue comme carrefour d’échanges culturels et économiques, où la richesse de l’offre oenologique et gastronomique se déguste avec une magnifique toile de fond, la région de Mendrisiotto et du Basso Ceresio est plus que jamais la porte d’accès aux innombrables opportunités liées à l’EXPO2015 de Milan, des opportunités que la région accueille et amplifie.
Dans ce lieu «officiellement ahurissant», je souhaite que les visiteurs puissent découvrir et s’approprier le dynamisme qui anime non seulement des activités artistiques et culturelles et d’entretien, mais aussi les affaires et les activités économiques.
«Merci de nous avoir choisis!»

2014 – Rodolfo Bernasconi


Palmira, personnage né il y a plus de 30 ans de l’esprit créatfi de Gianna Bernasconi, qui a foulé de nombreuses scènes et a été le protagoniste de nombreuses histoires, vous souhaite la bienvenue dans sa région!
Rodolfo Bernasconi, seul et exclusif interprète du personnage, a souhaité contribuer par son interprétation à souligner aussi le fort caractère de Palmira, une femme qui aime passionnément son village, ses traditions, qui tient bien en main les rênes de la famille et autres, fermement résolue à suivre ses principes.
Un personnage qui a su se faire apprécier, qui a fait rire et qui a été très applaudi, que l’on aimerait revoir sur scène, mais qui en a décidé autrement.
En effet, pour des raisons d’âge, La Palmira a renoncé à s’engager pour toute une saison théâtrale, même si elle a récemment accepté de tourner un film réalisé dans les plus belles ruelles typiques de Mendrisio et intitulé «La Palmira, Ul film».
Grâce à ce film, Palmira peut ainsi prendre congé de son public, en permettant à un public nombreux d’apprécier sa franchise, en laissant une trace de sa volonté d’incarner le typique «Momò», comme on surnomme les habitants de la région du Mendrisiotto.
En vous souhaitant une merveilleuse visite dans la région du Mendrisiotto où vous pourrez découvrir les beautés du territoire et peut-être aussi le caractère de ses habitants... bon divertissement à tous!

2013 – Giuseppe Poma


Riche d’histoire et de traditions, la ville de Mendrisio doit une grande part de sa renommée à ses processions de la Semaine Sainte, sans pareilles en Suisse.
Si le plus ancien document qui atteste leur existence ne date que de 1798, ces manifestations ne s’en sont pas moins perpétuées depuis la fin du XVIIe siècle.
Elles ont récemment été inscrites à la liste des traditions vivantes en Suisse.
La procession du Jeudi Saint, appelé «Funziun di Giüdee», présente une certaine affinité avec les mystères médiévaux. Les acteurs se recrutent parmi les hommes et les femmes du peuple, et la tradition veut que l’identité de celui qui interprète le Christ reste secrète jusqu’à la fin de la procession.
La procession du Vendredi Saint, dite «dell’Enterro», remonte à un passé plus ancien. Présentant un caractère plus religieux et liturgique, elle est présidée par des membres du clergé.
Elle compte plus de cinq cents participants, parmi lesquels de nombreux enfants, qui cheminent en portant des lampions particuliers peints par des artistes locaux. A cette occasion, on accroche par ailleurs dans les rues les «trasparenti», oeuvres de grande valeur constituant l’une des particularités de la procession, qui font penser à des grandes portes suspendues au-dessus des rues de la vieille ville.
Notre fondation s’attache tout au long de l’année à entretenir et à renouveler le matériel et les costumes utilisés pour les deux processions.
Dans l’attente de vous accueillir bientôt à l’occasion des processions de Mendrisio, je vous souhaite un bon séjour dans la région.

2012 – Angelo Frigerio


Soyez les bienvenus, chers amis, qui venez visiter les accueillantes contrées du Mendrisiotto et du bas Ceresio.
Vous y trouverez des paysages magnifiques, depuis le lac de nacre enchâssé entre les monts Generoso et San Giorgio jusqu’à la plaine ondoyante constellée de riants villages; depuis l’attachant val de Muggio jusqu’aux collines fertiles, en passant par les vignobles luxuriants et les cultures opulentes; des lieux magnifiques comme Obino, où la Brianza semble épouser la Toscane.
Vous pourrez partout déguster nos plats traditionnels, réalisés à partir des produits sains et authentiques de la région, réputée pour ses spécialités gastronomiques.
Vous les arroserez d’un de nos excellents Merlot. Ainsi restaurés, vous partirez à la découverte du chef-lieu, le “bourg magnifique” de Mendrisio, l’écrin d’un riche patrimoine historique, culturel et artistique, que l’on retrouve aussi dans les églises et les monuments religieux des alentours.
Aujourd’hui centre urbain, il demeure le haut lieu de fascinantes traditions séculaires, comme les processions de Pâques ou, à la campagne, la fête de San Martino.
Nous vous attendons avec grand plaisir!