Holy Week Processions in Mendrisio

2024 edition


The next edition of the Holy Week Processions in Mendrisio will take place on
28 and 29 March 2024 at 20:30


Would you like to participate as a figurant in the Mendrisio Holy Week Processions?
Fill in the online form and send your application!

Join now

A tradition 400 years old


Fascinating mixture of popular religiosity, mysticism, theatricality and art, the citizens of Mendrisio of all ages participate as participants in the event. A deeply rooted tradition that may perhaps seem anachronistic. But it is precisely the observance of a ritual handed down by the fathers to revive, punctually every year, the unique spirit that you breathe through the ancient streets of the village, during the processions and on the days before them. An unmissable and unique event, where history becomes a spectacle in the perpetuation of tradition.

An unmissable and unique appointment


Our Heritage in a nutshell


The UNESCO intangible cultural heritage bears witness to the richness and diversity of our traditions. The new explanatory video presents the most important information on the Mendrisio Holy Week Processions in an understandable way. A video in drawing format, simple and attractive, provides interesting background information on our centuries-old heritage.

Explanatory video Mendrisio Holy Week Processions

A tribute to the volunteers and tradition


Heinz Plenge, a Peruvian photographer of international renown, followed every aspect of the preparations for the two processions, collecting documentation, testimonies and working to render the lights and settings, the volunteers and their gazes, as well as all the emotions that characterise the two events.

Digital photo album

Plan your trip


Live the Mendrisiotto


Events in Mendrisiotto

Prozessionen der Karwoche in Mendrisio

Edition 2024


Die nächsten Prozessionen der Karwoche in Mendrisio finden am
28. und 29. März 2024 um 20.30 Uhr statt.


Möchten Sie als Figurant an den Prozessionen der Karwoche in Mendrisio teilnehmen?
Füllen Sie das Online-Formular aus und schicken Sie Ihre Bewerbung ab!

Jetzt anmelden

400 Jahre Tradition


Faszinierende Mischung aus populärer Religiosität, Mystik, Theatralik und Kunst, die Bürger von Mendrisio jeden Alters nehmen als Teilnehmer an der Veranstaltung teil. Eine tief verwurzelte Tradition, die vielleicht anachronistisch erscheinen mag. Aber es ist gerade die Einhaltung eines von den Vätern überlieferten Rituals, um jedes Jahr pünktlich den einzigartigen Geist wiederzubeleben, den man durch die alten Straßen des Dorfes, während der Prozessionen und in den Tagen vor ihnen atmet. Ein unübersehbares und einzigartiges Ereignis, bei dem die Geschichte zu einem Spektakel in der Aufrechterhaltung der Tradition wird.

Ein unumgänglicher und einzigartiger Event


Unser Erbe in wenigen Worten erklärt


Das immaterielle Kulturerbe der UNESCO ist ein Zeugnis für den Reichtum und die Vielfalt unserer Traditionen. Das neue Erklärvideo von World Heritage Experience Switzerland stellt die wichtigsten Informationen zu den Prozessionen der Karwoche in Mendrisio auf verständliche Art und Weise dar. Ein Video im Zeichenformat, einfach und attraktiv, liefert interessante Hintergrundinformationen zu unserem jahrhundertealten Erbe.

Erklarvideo Prozessionen der Karwoche in Mendrisio

Eine Hommage an Volontäre und Tradition


Heinz Plenge, ein peruanischer Fotograf von internationalem Ruf, verfolgte jeden Moment der Vorbereitungen für die beiden Umzüge, sammelte Dokumentationen und Zeugenaussagen und arbeitete daran, die Lichter und Kulissen, die Freiwilligen und ihre Blicke sowie alle Emotionen, die die beiden Veranstaltungen kennzeichnen, wiederzugeben.

Digitales Fotoalbum

Planen Sie Ihre Reise


Leben Sie den Mendrisiotto


Veranstaltungen in Mendrisiotto