Holy Week Processions in Mendrisio

2024 edition


The next edition of the Holy Week Processions in Mendrisio will take place on
28 and 29 March 2024 at 20:30


Would you like to participate as a figurant in the Mendrisio Holy Week Processions?
Fill in the online form and send your application!

Join now

A tradition 400 years old


Fascinating mixture of popular religiosity, mysticism, theatricality and art, the citizens of Mendrisio of all ages participate as participants in the event. A deeply rooted tradition that may perhaps seem anachronistic. But it is precisely the observance of a ritual handed down by the fathers to revive, punctually every year, the unique spirit that you breathe through the ancient streets of the village, during the processions and on the days before them. An unmissable and unique event, where history becomes a spectacle in the perpetuation of tradition.

An unmissable and unique appointment


Our Heritage in a nutshell


The UNESCO intangible cultural heritage bears witness to the richness and diversity of our traditions. The new explanatory video presents the most important information on the Mendrisio Holy Week Processions in an understandable way. A video in drawing format, simple and attractive, provides interesting background information on our centuries-old heritage.

Explanatory video Mendrisio Holy Week Processions

A tribute to the volunteers and tradition


Heinz Plenge, a Peruvian photographer of international renown, followed every aspect of the preparations for the two processions, collecting documentation, testimonies and working to render the lights and settings, the volunteers and their gazes, as well as all the emotions that characterise the two events.

Digital photo album

Plan your trip


Live the Mendrisiotto


Events in Mendrisiotto

Processions de la Semaine Sainte à Mendrisio

Édition 2024


Les prochaines Processions de la Semaine Sainte à Mendrisio auront lieu les
28 et 29 mars 2024 à 20h30


Vous souhaitez participer en tant que figurant aux processions de la Semaine Sainte de Mendrisio ? Remplissez le formulaire en ligne et envoyez votre candidature !

S'inscrire maintenant

Une tradition vieille de 400 ans.


Mélange fascinant de religiosité populaire, de mysticisme, de théâtralité et d'art, les citoyens de Mendrisio de tous âges participent à l'événement. Une tradition profondément enracinée qui peut paraître anachronique. Mais c'est précisément l'observance d'un rituel transmis par les pères pour raviver, ponctuellement chaque année, l'esprit unique que vous respirez dans les rues anciennes du village, pendant les processions et les jours qui les précèdent.Un événement incontournable et unique, où l'histoire devient un spectacle dans la perpétuation de la tradition.

Un rendez-vous unique et incontournable


Notre patrimoine expliqué en quelques mots


Le Patrimoine culturel immatériel de l'UNESCO témoigne de la richesse et de la diversité de nos traditions. La nouvelle vidéo explicative de World Heritage Expérience Switzerland présente les informations les plus importantes sur les Processions de la Semaine Sainte de Mendrisio d'une manière compréhensible. Une vidéo en format dessin, simple et attrayante, fournit des informations de base intéressantes sur notre patrimoine séculaire.

Vidéo explicative Processions de la Semaine Sainte à Mendrisio

Un hommage aux bénévoles et à la tradition


Heinz Plenge, photographe péruvien de renommée internationale, a suivi chaque instant de la préparation des deux processions, recueillant de la documentation, des témoignages et travaillant à rendre les lumières et les décors, les volontaires et leurs regards, ainsi que toutes les émotions qui caractérisent les deux événements.

Vidéo explicative Processions de la Semaine Sainte à Mendrisio

Planifiez votre voyage


Vivre le Mendrisiotto


Événements du Mendrisiotto